Wisconsin Weather

MAY 2, 2018 | Severe Storms in Southeast Wisconsin

Event Type
Severe Thunderstorms
Impact
2 - Low
Date
Wed May 2 - Thu May 3, 2018

Event Summary

Thunderstorms developed during the afternoon across northern Illinois. A rogue cell moved in from northern Iowa, grew upscale, then utilized a reservoir of surface instability left from daytime heating. The cold front was slow to move and timing was perfect. Short range models were split; some handling it well while others not at all.

Quick Facts

Regions: Southeast WI, Southwest WI
Last Update: May 2

Information & Details

  • Posts
  • Photos
  • Maps & Radar
  • Forecast
  • Warnings
  • Reports
  • All

Member Posts

In case you were wondering how cold it was in April relative to average.
Turned off warning email updates again because we are still dealing with several issues.

Similar Storm Events

Strong T-storms Possible Tonight
Severe Thunderstorms
Mon Apr 30, 2018
4.8" in Richland Center - Heavy Rain
Heavy Rain
Wed May 2, 2018
Southern Wisconsin Tornadoes
Severe Thunderstorms
Tue May 8, 2018
Northwest WI Hailstorms
Severe Thunderstorms
Thu May 24, 2018
Memorial Day Weekend Heat
Extreme Heat
Sat May 26, 2018
Tropical Storm Alberto Remnants
Heavy Rain
Tue May 29, 2018
Tornadoes in Southern WI
Severe Thunderstorms
Mon Jun 25, 2018
Thursday Night Storms
Severe Thunderstorms
Wed Jul 11, 2018
T-Storm Redevelopment
Severe Thunderstorms
Thu Jul 12, 2018
Wednesday Night Storms
Severe Thunderstorms
Tue Jul 24, 2018
Heavy Rain and Severe Weather
Severe Thunderstorms
Sat Aug 25, 2018
© 2018 Wisconsin Weather Group | All Rights Reserved
v7.81